University System of Georgia

270 Washington Street, S.W., Atlanta, GA 30334

The University System of Georgia includes all state-operated institutions of higher education in Georgia—four research universities, four comprehensive universities, ten state universities, and ten state colleges. These 28 public institutions are located throughout the state. A constitutional Board of Regents governs the University System, which has been in operation since 1932. Appointments of Board members—five from the state-at-large and one from each of the state's Congressional Districts—are made by the Governor, subject to confirmation by the State Senate. The regular term of Board members is seven years. The Chancellor, who is not a member of the Board, is the chief executive officer of the Board and the chief administrative officer of the University System. The overall programs and services of the University System are offered through three major components: Instruction, Research, and Public Service and Continuing Education

Instruction consists of programs of study leading toward degrees, ranging from the associate (two-year) level to the doctoral level, and certificates. Requirements for admission of students to instructional programs at each institution are determined, pursuant to policies of the Board of Regents, by the institution. The Board establishes minimum academic standards and leaves to each institution the prerogative to establish higher standards. Applications for admission should be addressed in all cases to the institutions.

Research encompasses investigations conducted primarily for discovery and application of knowledge. These investigations, conducted on campuses and at many off-campus locations, cover a large number and a variety of matters related to the educational objectives of the institutions and to general societal needs. Most of the research is conducted through the research universities; however, some of it is conducted through several of the other institutions.

Public Service and Continuing Education consists of non-degree activities, primarily, and special types of university-degree-credit courses. The non-degree activities are of several types, including short courses, seminars, conferences, lectures, and consultative and advisory services, in a large number of areas of interest. Typical university-degree-credit public service/continuing education courses are those offered through extension center programs and teacher education consortia.

The policies of the Board of Regents for the government, management, and control of the University System and the administrative actions of the Chancellor provide autonomy of high degree for each institution. The executive head of each institution is the President, whose election is recommended by the Chancellor and approved by the Board. State appropriations for the University System are requested by, and are made to, the Board of Regents. Allocation of the appropriations is made by the Board.

Members of the Board of Regents

Alford, C. Dean (2019)

Bowers, W. Paul (2020)

Griffin, Rutledge A., Jr. (2018)

Hopkins, C. Thomas, Jr. (2017)

Hull, James M. (2023)

Leebern, Donald M., Jr. (2019)

March, Laura (2020)

Poitevint, Doreen Stiles (2018)

Reed, Sarah-Elizabeth (2024)

Shailendra, Sachin (2021)

Smith, E. Scott (2020)

Stelling, Kessel, Jr. (2022)

Tarbutton, Benjamin J., III (2020)

Tucker, Richard L. (2019)

Wade, Thomas Rogers (2020)

Walker, Larry (2023)

Waters, Don L. (2018)

Wilheit, Philip A., Sr. (2022)

Principal Officers of the Board of Regents

Steve Wrigley, Chancellor

Robert E. Anderson, Interim Executive Vice Chancellor and Chief Academic Officer

Tricia Chastain, Executive Vice Chancellor for Administration

Robert Anderson, Vice Chancellor for Educational Access and Success

Samuel C. Burch, Vice Chancellor for Legal Affairs

Marion Fedrick, Vice Chancellor for Human Resources

Michael Foxman, Interim Chief Audit Officer

Jim James, Vice Chancellor for Facilities

Joyce A. Jones, Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs

Robert H. Laurine, Chief Information Officer

Mark Lytle, Vice Chancellor for Economic Development

Shelley C. Nickel, Executive Vice Chancellor for Fiscal Affairs and Planning

John Fuchko III, Vice Chancellor for Organizational Effectiveness

Charles Sutlive, Vice Chancellor for Communications and Government Affairs

Terry Thompson, Vice Chancellor for Internal Audit

Institutions of the University System of Georgia

Research Universities

Augusta University, Augusta 30912

Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta 30332

Georgia State University, Atlanta 30303

University of Georgia, Athens 30602

Comprehensive Universities

Georgia Southern University, Statesboro 30460

Kennesaw State University, Kennesaw 30144

University of West Georgia, Carrollton 30118

Valdosta State University, Valdosta 31698

State Universities

Albany State University, Albany 31705

Armstrong State University, Savannah 31419

Clayton State University, Morrow 30260

Columbus State University, Columbus 31907

Fort Valley State University, Fort Valley 31030

Georgia College and State University, Milledgeville 31061

Georgia Southwestern State University, Americus 31709

Middle Georgia State University, Macon 31206

Savannah State University, Savannah 31404

University of North Georgia, Dahlonega 30597

State Colleges

Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College, Tifton 31793

Atlanta Metropolitan State College, Atlanta 30310

Bainbridge College, Bainbridge 39819

College of Coastal Georgia, Brunswick 31520

Dalton State College, Dalton 30720

East Georgia State College, Swainsboro 30401

Georgia Gwinnett College, Lawrenceville 30043

Georgia Highlands College, Rome 30161

Gordon State College, Barnesville 30204

South Georgia State College, Douglas 31533